Stop, Block Bing To Access, Use Your Facebook Profile Data & Information

Microsoft has recently enabled a new feature called Bing social search which allows you to connect your facebook account profile and then you can search your facebook friends from bing or even find out their facebook likes and track their activity via bing directly without even opening facebook.com

This feature has seemed to be rolled out in US only, and some people are not liking it due to some privacy concerns. For those who have connected their facebook accounts but now want to disconnect them from bing, the first thing you should do is to sign out on the bing website from your facebook account if you are already signed in, go to bing.com and sign out as shown in image below.

sign-out-of-bing

In case you want to permanently disable or stop bing to access data or disconnect it from your facebook profile, you can follow the procedure below. 

1. To prevent yourself from being included in Facebook profile search results on Bing and block the Bing application on Facebook, log in to Facebook, and then go to this link [ you may need to sign in using facebook account credentials in case you are not already signed in. Once you are signed in you will see the following message to block bing to collect further data and information from your facebook profile as shown the image below.

block-bing-app-on-facebook

If you want to turn off bing social search feature temporarily, follow the procedure below.

The first five times you visit Bing  If you want to disable these features and prevent Bing from using your Facebook information to personalize your experience, click the Disable button that we display the first five times you visit Bing with Social Search.

If you want to opt out later  If you want to disable these features and prevent Bing from using your Facebook information to personalize your experience, log in to Facebook, and then go to http://www.facebook.com/apps/block.php?id=111239619098&action=block.

Turning the features back on on Bing  If the features have been turned off, you can turn them back on by logging into Facebook on Bing. At the top right of the Bing page, click sign in to log into Facebook, and the features will reappear.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *