Prevent, Stop iTunes From Erasing Songs, Videos and Contacts On iPhone

It might have happened with you when you connect your iPhone to a new computer and iTunes opens automatically and it starts syncing, by default all audio files stored on an Apple iPod, iPhone, or iPad may be erased when the device is connected to a new or recently reformatted computer or hard drive.

This happens because when the device is connected to a different computer running iTunes, all stored audio files may be changed to match the computer’s music library. This happens if you set the music synchronization to update automatically, or reset iTunes to its default settings; iTunes is set to synchronize automatically by default.

Here is how you can disable this automatic sync and prevent the deletion of all music and other stuff on your iPod, iPhone, or iPad as shown in the image below.

11-2-2010 2-03-23 PM

For Mac OS X

  1. From the menubar, choose iTunes, then Preferences, and then Devices.
  2. Check Prevent iPods, iPhones, and iPads from syncing automatically.

    Note: To preserve the audio files on your device, make sure this box is checked before you plug in an iPod, iPhone, or iPad.

For Windows 

  1. From the menubar, choose Edit, and then Preferences.
  2. Select the Devices tab.
  3. Check Prevent iPods, iPhones, and iPads from syncing automatically.

Note: To preserve the audio files on your device, make sure this box is checked before you plug in an iPod or iPhone.

[ Source – Knowledge Base ]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *