Recently we informed you about the launch of Facebook email service with another post of How to request invite for Facebook new messages to let you know how you can take the advantage of the new email service. Though the new email service allows you to send messages more quickly and easily but it keeps your privacy at risk. I will explain it here.
When you will request for the new messaging service following the above procedure, it will create the account with your vanity url being the username of the emailing service. That is, if my facebook profile url would be – http://www.facebook.com/silky then the email address would be email@example.com.
This clearly shows that your privacy is lost and all of your contacts and public can find your contact address easily and also spam you. So, to keep you away from the menace of unwanted messages in your mail, it is suggested to turn off the facebook email service.
You might know that by default, anyone on Facebook can send you a message, and if you set up a Facebook email address, anyone outside of Facebook can send you email. Email from friends and their friends goes directly to your main Messages folder, and everything else goes to the Other folder within your Messages.
So, to change the settings who can send you facebook messages and email, you have to follow these simple steps:
1. Go to the Account drop-down menu at the top of any Facebook page and select ‘Privacy Settings’.
2. Select ‘View settings’ in the ‘Connecting on Facebook’ section.
3. Change the setting for ‘Send you messages’. Your options include: Everyone, Friends and Friends of Friends.
4. Only emails from people that fall within the message privacy setting you choose will be delivered to your Facebook Messages. For example, if you select the ‘Friends Only’ setting, you will not receive messages from email addresses that are not confirmed as belonging to one of your friends. Instead, those senders will receive automatic bounce-back replies.
NOTE: Changes to the ‘Send you messages’ privacy setting may take up to 24 hours to take effect.
This way you can keep your privacy and avoid the unwanted messages to your email.