Google has recently announced google cloud print – we wrote how can you link the printers connected to your computer to google cloud print via google chrome. As google cloud print is a new services, below are some 12 basic questions answered about google chrome print that may come to your mind, we hope this will help.
What is Google Cloud Print?
Google Cloud Print makes printing more intuitive, accessible and useful, by allowing you to print to your printers from Google Cloud Print enabled apps on any computer or smart phone.
How do I connect my printer to Google Cloud Print?
To connect your printer to Google Cloud Print, you will need to install the latest beta version of Google Chrome on a Windows XP, Vista, or Windows 7 computer that’s connected to your printer. Once installed, enable the Google Cloud Print connector in Google Chrome.
How do I print to my Google Cloud Printer?
The steps you take to print will vary from application to application. For example, in Chrome OS, click the wrench icon and then selectPrint to print the webpage you are viewing (you can also use the keyboard shortcut Ctrl+P).
Where can I print from?
We’re working hard to provide Google Cloud Print integration with many Google products and services, the first of which will be Chrome OS.
Can I share my printer?
We’re working on tools that will let you share and control access to your printer as easily as you can share files in Google Docs. For now, printers are only accessible to the account that connected them to Google Cloud Print.
What happens if my printer is offline?
If your printer can’t be reached at the time you submit your print job (e.g. the computer running the Google Cloud Print connector is turned off), your job will wait in the print queue in the cloud. Your printer will download and print the job normally as soon as it comes back online.
What happens if my Windows user account is logged out of my proxy computer?
For your printer to be connected to the Google Cloud, you must be logged into your Windows user account. Just as when your printer is offline, if you are using the Google Chrome proxy and your Windows user account is logged off, jobs will be saved and fetched normally when you log back in.
How many printers can I register?
You can connect any number of printers that you like to a device running the Google Cloud Print proxy in Google Chrome. For now, due to technical limitations, we recommend that users activate the proxy on no more than three devices for a given Google Account.
How can I reconnect a printer that I deleted?
If you delete your printer by mistake or change your mind later, you can re-connect all the printers on your local device by signing back into Google Cloud Print.
Who can see what I’m printing?
Google Cloud Print jobs are submitted and retrieved over https, and are available only to you and to the printer you submitted the job to.
Troubleshooting Google Cloud Print
- Make sure your Google Cloud Print connector is running on a computer with Windows XP, 7 or Vista (Mac and Linux support coming soon!).
- If you are using Windows XP , make sure you have the Microsoft XML paper specification pack installed.
- Confirm that the computer connected to your printer is powered on and that you are logged in.
- You will periodically need to renew your credentials in the Google Cloud Print connector by clicking the notification that arrives in the system tray and logging in again. When you have restored the connection to Google Cloud Print, your printer should print your queued print jobs normally.
For now Google Cloud Print is only available in mobile devices such as smart phones and Chrome notebooks.
What information is shared with Google when I use Google Cloud Print?
There are three categories of information shared with Google when you use Google Cloud Print – information about the jobs you send for printing, the documents themselves, and server logs created from each request you make to the Google Cloud Print service.
Can you explain more about these three categories of information?
- Of course. Google keeps information about the print job in question (the job title, the printer you sent it to, printer status information) as a record, along with your Google Account ID. We need this information in order to process the jobs you send for printing, and to allow you (and only you) to view and edit your printing history through the Google Cloud Print dashboard.
- Google also keeps a copy of each document you send for printing – but only for so long as the printing job is active and not complete. We have to do this to make sure your document gets printed. Once the job is complete, the document is deleted from our servers.
- Finally, our servers also keep logs of the requests made by all of the Google Cloud Print users. These are routine server logs and do not contain any personal information.
Yes, but only for so long as the printing job is active and not complete. We have to do this to make sure your document gets printed. Once the job is complete, the document is deleted from our servers.
Does Google keep a record of what documents I have printed using Google Cloud Print?
Yes. Google keeps information about the print job in question (the job title, the printer you sent it to, printer status information) as a record, along with your Google Account ID. We need this information in order to process the jobs you send for printing, and to allow you to view and edit your printing history through the Cloud Print dashboard.
Can I delete records from my history of using Cloud Print?
Absolutely. You can see and edit these records through the Cloud Print dashboard at any time.
Does Google look at the contents of documents I send to print? Are they kept confidential?
Documents you send to print are your personal information and are kept strictly confidential. Google does not access the documents you print for any purpose other than to improve printing.
Where can I learn more about how Google treats my personal information?